Heads up display (HUD) dynamic text input

Hi I am new to OpelGL, but have been using Opencascade with Qt. I am developing an open source CAD tool kit on Linux using C++. I want to show sketch dimensions etc using HUD for example like so:
http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor_LT…253-Using_Dy253

I have looked up links on google to show a HUD, but didn’t help much. I want the HUD to be dynamic and the user should be able to interact with the text displayed more like a text box shown in the above link. I have no idea how to proceed. Any suggestions to implement this is is greatly appreciated. Do I have to use SDL? please help.

Thanks,

Venu

I can’t get to the link you posted, but anyway OpenGL is a graphics rendering API. You can certainly create text box GUI widgets and others as I have no problem (OK, quite a lot of code actually).
To get keyboard input you’ll need to use the underlying operating system or some API which allows that kind of thing (SDL can help there). Keyboard interaction is one of the easiest things to get a handle on so SDL may be an overkill just to type some text.

Hi Bbytes,

Thanks for the reply, yes I understand what OpenGL is, only thing is used little OpenGL in coding, but I think now to realize HUD, I need to use OpenGL more, I know commercial windows based software used DirectX in softwares like AutoCAD to do this, but since I am more a newbie to OpenGL, I don’t know how to proceed.

So you I better use SDL for even handling? since I handle my GUI related events using Qt, will SDL event handling interfere with Qt?

Also please see attached images, please note the text being input in the textbox like HUD display on the canvas, this is great for the reason that, I don’t have to have a separate GUI textbox and this is integrated into the whole sketching philosophy. I wish you or someone can show me a way.

Thanks again.

Venu