Having issues with critical section implementation

Hello,

Without stating further details about the problem at hand, I need to implement some kind of a critical section.

I have some experience with CUDA and a pattern equivalent to this used to work well:

[[loop]] while(true) 
    [[branch]] if if (atomicCompSwap(lockRef, 0, 1) == 0) {
        // Critical section here... (outside the 'if' statement we would have a guaranteed deadlock if two threads from the same group were attempting to use the same lock)
        atomicExchange(lockRef, 0); 
        break;
    }

lockRef corresponds to some 0-initialized buffer element and multiple threads may use the same one.

Unfortunately, when I try to use this in glsl and compile SPIRV, I have deadlocks in an unit test with compute shader.

Here are my observations so far:

1. If I set group size to 1, no deadlock occurs (expected behavior even if the code was not divergent);
  2. Also no error occurs if I run only one thread group and give each thread the same lock address;
  3. Any other case results in a deadlock. I am especially surprised that individual locks per gl_LocalInvocationID and many workgroups also locks up…
  4. As far as I can tell, the problems are the same on NVIDIA and AMD

Can anyone suggest what am I doing wrong? What is the fundamental difference between CUDA and SPIRV that makes the two use cases different?

Update:
With a bit more experimentation, the following code started working:

bool notAquired = true;
[[loop]] while(notAquired) 
    [[branch]] if if (atomicCompSwap(lockRef, 0, 1) == 0) {
        // Critical section here...
        atomicExchange(lockRef, 0); 
        notAquired = false;
    }

I am more confused now… Is this just luck, or am I missing something?

Since you’re using Vulkan, I assume that lockRef is a work group shared variable. Well, Vulkan has exactly zero forward progress guarantees (within a work group). So there is no requirement that this works at all.