got some problems with my camera class

hi. i’m working on a small 3d engine atm and just wrote vector, matrix and quaternion classes to calculate transformations and rotations. i’m sure these classes work correct as they are inspired by the ones of several open source engines.

in my camera class i have functions to translate and rotate the view, but it’s not working the way it should: translations work fine, but the camera is always rotated around the global axis and not its own axis. i guess it’s a simple mistake because i’m still new to this quaternion stuff, so maybe you see what’s i’m doing wrong:

using the mouse and keyboard the player calls functions to rotate (vxQuaternion Rotation) and translate (vxVector Translation) the camera

inline void SetTranslation( const vxVector &translation ) { Translation = translation; }
inline void Translate( const vxVector &translation ) { Translation += translation; }
inline vxVector &GetTranslation() { return Translation; }

inline void SetRotation( const vxQuaternion& rotation ) { Rotation = rotation; }
inline void Rotate( const vxQuaternion& rotation ) { Rotation *= rotation; }
inline vxQuaternion &GetRotation() { return Rotation; }

and this is my camera’s render routine:

void vxCamera::Render( bool wireframe )
{
// Create a matrix from the rotation and translation and apply it
glLoadMatrixf( vxMatrix(Rotation, Translation) );

// Render world
World->Render( wireframe );
}

so what am i doing wrong? thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

I think the issue may be that in order to apply a camera matrix, you need to apply the observer’s inverse transformation.

You can construct a simple matrix using unit vectors and translation to place a vertex in the world, but since the world has to be moved into the camera’s coordinate system, you need to use the inverse of the observer’s transformation matrix.

Now if that doesn’t solve the issue, I think you’ll need to post some more code.