GLX translucent window

Hi to all,
I don’t know if this is the correct forum to post this question so first of all sorry if it isn’t.

I’m making a glx application which shows the image captured with a webcam as a texture over a quad.
I want the glx window to be translucent so the desktop and other windows that are behind it are blended with the glx’s window content.
I’ve actually managed to create a traslucent glx window (the window borders are traslucent) and a traslucent texture that displays the webcam image, but the background of the glx window remains black.
I’m really a noob in OpenGL / GLX so my question if this can be achieved (I suppose so as Compiz is able to do it) and if so, where could I find some example / tutorial to achieve this.

Many thanks in advance.

No experience there, but check out the “GLX composite extension”. Google that for info. Also check out “AddARGBGLXVisuals” in the NVidia driver README.

Many thanks Dark Photon (nice nick ;)).

I’ve already checked those links, as they are almost the only related links I’ve found during google searching. Maybe my first post isn’t clear enough, so let me reformulate it.
As far as I’ve been able to search and read, I think I have all the neccessary elements to make my GLX ap. translucent (well, sure I haven’t as it doesn’t work :frowning: )

• My card Is an ATI Radeon X1300, and I’ve installed the latest drivers provided by ATI, and checked “xorg.conf” so the composite extension is available.
  • I’ve selected a visual that supports “GLX_RGBA_BIT”.
  • I’ve made the GLX window translucent changing it’s attributes with Xlib.
  • I’ve made the texture I’m displaying also translucent.

But the GL scene background is always opaque. I’ve tried with different values of R,G,B and alpha with the glClearColor function but I only obtain a black / gray / white background but with no translucent effect.