GLUT problem

Hi
im new to programming with opengl, and im using GLUT for windows. I use gcc for windows to compile, but when i compile, it throws me some errors:
C:\windows emp\ccZAufgb.o(.text+0x2ea):cuad.c: undefined reference to `glutMainLoop’

It throws many of this errors more than 10.
This is how i compile it with the gcc:

gcc myprog.c -o myprog.exe -Iincludedir -Llibrariesdir -lglut32 -lglu32 -lopengl32

I’ve also tried using -lglut but its the same, any ideas on this?

If someone can help me i will be very appreciated, since i really want to learn how to program in opengl
Sorry for my poor english but im from Argentina

Hi !

First check if you have the glut library, if not then that explains it, it could also be the order of the libraries, ld is picky about this so it’s possible that you must put -lglut at the end.

Mikael

Thanks for the answer, but nope, its the same wherever i put it, ive tried all the combinations posible and keeps saying the same 18 errors
Ive got all the libraries (i guess), i have

Dinamic (in windows\system):
glut32.dll
glut.dll

static (in my defined directory):
glut.lib
glut32.lib

You can remove glut.dll and glut.lib if you have not installed SGI’s OpenGL implementation. The glut32.lib is for Microsoft’s compiler but probably works. The problem is that you are using -lglut32 so the the system will look for libglut32.a. The easiest is to rename glut32.lib but I think that a command line with glut32.lib will also work.

Some corrections:

Thx for th link Zico!, its good to know this kind of info
still, how do i know which library uses stuff from another?, do i have to open them and see the functions it uses?

im using the port for windows of the GNU gcc, so it shouldnt look for libglut32.a, am i right?, still ive changed the name of glut32.lib to libglut32.a and still the same errors. Ive also tried using -lglut32.lib instead of -lglut32 but tells me no such file or directory