gluOrtho2D and OpenGL 3.1 newbie problem

I’m working on converting my little OpenGL game from 1.* to 3.1, and it has mostly been going fine, except for the fact that gluOrtho2D/glOrtho seem to have no effect on the coordinates.

I’m trying to use the line “gluOrtho2D(-10.0, 10.0, -10.0, 10.0);”, and I’ve tried putting it in all kinds of places in the code, just to make sure it wasn’t in the wrong place. But the coordinate system is still -1 to 1. I’ve tried calling gluOrtho2D before setting shaders, before/after glBindBuffer etc, and before glBindVertexArray/glDrawArrays, and it makes no difference.

Obviously I am an OpenGL newbie and I’ve only been using 3.1 for about a day, so I’m probably missing something very basic.

I’d post the code, but it’s not very compact, so I don’t know if I should. So, my question is, does anyone know where the gluOrtho2D line is meant to go in a 3.1/3.2 application that’s trying to avoid using deprecated functions?

Are your shaders actually using the standard matrices? If not, then gluOrtho (and any other matrix functions) will do nothing for you.

How can I make sure they’re using the standard matrices, beyond not setting glOrtho until after I’ve loaded the shaders? It sounds like this might be my problem. Ordinarily I would google this stuff, but I have a hard time finding 3.* tutorials.

I assume I should be setting glOrtho either right before the following:

glVertexAttribPointer((GLuint)0, 2, GL_FLOAT, GL_FALSE, 0, 0);

Or before the following:

glBindVertexArray(m_vaoID[0]);
glDrawArrays(GL_TRIANGLES, 0, 3);?

It doesn’t work though, no matter where I place it. Should I just be scaling the vertex array positions by the values I want, before passing them to the shader, perhaps? That doesn’t sound like a great way of handling this, but I don’t even know if it’s possible to get glOrhto working with shaders.

Okay, I figured out I have to do it in the shader, something like: