glslang - some odd decisions ?

From the OpenGL Shader Language doc:

"Actually, some of the comments in the gslang doc makes me FUME.

“When writing general programs, programmers have long given up worrying if it is more efficient to do a calculation in bytes, shorts or longs and we do not want shader writers to believe they have to concern themselves similarly.”

Now I just don’t buy that. I believe, as a programmer, I should ALWAYS have the option of chosing the data type best suited to my purpose. And if a fixed or half data type gives me enough precision then I should be able use them and expect performance gains over floats (as NV30 gives me)

Discuss

Maybe the next-gen NVidia hardware will use only full-precision FP data? And no other vendor plans to implement half precision floats and fixed data types. Then making this part of the core spec does not make much sence - this functionality should be exposed as an extention.

I agree with Pocketmoon.

The doc says that “programmers have long given up worrying if it is more efficient to do a calculation in bytes, shorts or longs”, but that’s not true. We are all aware that float computations are, in general, faster than doubles. That’s why everybody doesn’t use doubles in all their code. Certainly, SSE/3DNow don’t support doubles at all.

Considering that programmable graphics hardware is hardly as mature as CPU’s, and isn’t likely to become as mature as a modern CPU for some time (if ever), it’s hardly unreasonable to allow the user to request specific data formats that may, or may not, be faster. It imposes no limitation on the implementer, as they can simply ignore the hint and give them 32-bit floats.

However, at some point, internal shader hardware may have 64-bit floats that take much longer to make computations on. It is important to be able to support this choice, if the user needs to make more accurate computations.