GLslang required hardware?

I’m actually an intermediate newbie, but I wasn’t sure if the folks in the beginner forum would be able to answer this. :slight_smile:

What accelerators will GLslang support? Will it have to have a programmable chip like the GF4Ti or FX? Will the GF4MX be supported? Also, when will we see OS X and Linux versions? Thanks,

Robert

Given that the GF4MX doesn’t support neither vertex nor fragment program GLslang wouldn’t be very useful

At the moment I think the only card with some GLSlang support is 3DLabs P10 but I could be wrong. By the way it’s a High Level Shading Language so it’s not really useful for GF4 class hardware which is limited in its programability, it will be really interesting for programing NV3x or R3xx hardware whitch support hundreds of instructions.

OK, thanks. That answers my question.

Something strange is brewing at Ati. I’ve seen pics of ati’s 9800pro box and it advertizes Opengl 2.0 support. Perhaps it will support glslang.

Originally posted by Robert_Burns:
OK, thanks. That answers my question.

That would be surprising, since the ARB has not defined an OpenGL 2.0 yet.

Originally posted by JD:
Something strange is brewing at Ati. I’ve seen pics of ati’s 9800pro box and it advertizes Opengl 2.0 support. Perhaps it will support glslang.

HOO-YA!!

-SirKnight

It’s the 256meg variant which will be released soonish(probably will go head to head with nv35, I think r400 will go against nv40). Take a look for yourself at www.rage3d.com main page, just scroll down a bit.

Maybe ati’s f-buffer places the card under gl2 specs? On the topic of glslang I think Ati might be pretty close since they got major boost from their 3DLabs partnership. We do know that JC played with glslang on P10. Maybe we’ll get an early glslang implementation from Ati thru their extensions. That would be interesting to say the least.

Originally posted by JD:

Oyaah! I really hope it isnt any bogus and that it will have full GL2 support.