GLSL and MacOS 10.4--no acceleration?

I’m new to GLSL, and I have indications that there is currently no hardware acceleration for shaders written in GLSL.

Is this true? All the shaders that I wrote using Apple’s Shader Builder required the software renderer, but I was under the impression it was because my hardware didn’t support fragment shading.

A more general question: is there anyplace where one can look up the current status of GLSL/OpenGL support under OSX? Having some sort of timeline or roadmap from Apple would help me immensely.

If you want it to work now, use Windows XP.

If you want to wait for Apple to get it right, prepare to wait until long after Apple brings Intel to its rescue and starts selling Intel based Macs - and that’s many months away still.

And ofcourse by then, the whole industry will have moved forward and your product would be out-of-date.

I think Tiberius is a little pessimistic here :slight_smile:

Mac OS X does not currently accelerate GLSL on any hardware. Apple have said that it is a “high priority” for them, but they never discuss specifics of the future. Information about “when” and “how well” is simply not available.

If you want a working hardware-accelerated GLSL implementation now, you have a choice between Windows XP or Linux. You’ll find discussions of ATI’s Linux support elsewhere here, but I can vouch for the quality of NVidia’s drivers on both Windows and Linux.

I don’t see the switch to Intel as being at all relevant here. Apple still won’t be able to use the Windows or Linux drivers, so we’ll be in exactly the same situation we are now.

Yes, MacOS X is not the platform of choice for getting the latest OpenGL enhancements (like OpenGL 2.0, FBO, complete nVidia support (GL_NV_vertex_program3), even for hardware support (all shipping Macs are still using AGP and with the Intel shift, don’t expect PCI Express until 2006/2007 …).