glRotatef

Im not too good with matrices…so i define my ortho projection matrix like so-

gluOrtho2D(1515.0, 1565.0, -3.0, 15.0);

Now if i wanted to rotate it about the x and y axis in OnMouseMove, im wondering what my rotation matrix should look like. This is my code in OnMouseMove:

m_yRot -= (float)(m_leftDownPos.x - point.x)/3.0f;
m_xRot -= (float)(m_leftDownPos.y - point.y)/3.0f;

And so i have in OnPaint:

glRotatef(m_xRot, ?, 0.0, 0.0);
glRotatef(m_yRot, 0.0, ?, 0.0);

glRotatef(m_xRot, ?, 0.0, 0.0);glRotatef(m_yRot, 0.0, ?, 0.0);

The format is : angle,x,y,z
So just stick in
glRotatef(m_xrot,1,0,0);
glRotatef(m_yrot,0,1,0);

Or am I not understanding what you want?

Its me not understanding how the rotation works. Originally i used glPerspective in my OnSize…the rotation was fine with the glRotatef parameters you suggest. However, i need to define the clipping region cuz im receiving and plotting real data. So i use glOrtho…but the rotation doesnt work. When i attempt it, my rendering disappears…as though it goes out of view. Thats why i thought id have to change the parameters in glRotate. So if glRotatef(m_xRot,1,0,1) is correct, do u know a reason why the attempted rotation loses my view??

What are you attempting to rotate? Lines, Quads, triangles or what? It is possible that you have “flat” quads/triangles that can only be seen on a certain axis.

You do know you can control the clipping plane don’t you? Check out the FAQ at the main page of this site, they have pretty good tips & help on this.

The scene is a graph. So im trying to rotate the entire scene. It’s just a bunch of lines. What id like to know is why the rotation works using glPerspective and doesnt when using glOrtho??

Originally posted by Elixer:
…It is possible that you have “flat” quads/triangles that can only be seen on a certain axis…

If this is the problem…how do i prevent it?
I dont think i do have a “flat” scene cuz i use glOrtho with zNear, zFar parameters.