glPerspective

Keep in mind i’m new to OpenGL, so be soft on the responses;
I’m currently using the MingW compiler for my projects, although it might not be of any relevance to my problem- I receive an “undefined reference to glPerspective@32” error whenever trying to compile a project using the glPerspective() function,eg.
glMatrixMode(GL_PERSPECTIVE);
glPerspective(45.0f,(GLfloat)width/(GLfloat)height,0.1f,100.0f);
Any suggestions? Logical fixes?
Thanks,
-Brian

You sure that is not supposed to be gluPerspective instead of glPerspective? Or is that just an error in your message?

Yepp, you forgot a ‘u’ in your call to gluPerspective. You also need to #include <GL/glu.h> and add glu32.lib to your project.

Actually, there is another problem (and I am surprised that you did not spot it out, Bob !).

You should use :

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW); // Not GL_PERSPECTIVE ! //
gluPerspective(45.0f,(GLfloat)width/(GLfloat)height,0.1f,100.0f);

GL_MODELVIEW Huh? You sure you don’t mean GL_PROJECTION?

Projections is suppose to reside in the projection matrix, and translations in the modelview.

But look at the error message in the first post, the problem is the perspective function. But you are right, GL_PERSPECTIVE is wrong.

p.s. And I addmit, I didn’t noticed it… whistle

Arf’ yes, I meant GL_PROJECTION !

Sorry, Muerte, I do not want to confuse you…

So, the definitive code is :

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION); // Not GL_PERSPECTIVE nor GL_MODELVIEW !!! //

1,2,3… Sold !

Best Regards.

Eric

P.S. : Thanks Bob !

Lol, yeah i’m sorry i made alot of dumb mistakes in that code which i posted originally. It wasn’t directly coppied and pasted from my source code, i typed it out again and had mistakes. The exact code is:
/some initialization stuff up here/
glLoadIdentity();
glViewport(100,100,600,600);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();
glHint(GL_PERSPECTIVE_CORRECTION_HINT, GL_NICEST);
/*rest of stuff down here */