glGetDoublev returns 0-Matrix

I’ve used the glGetDoublev function to get the modelview matrix but the function returns me an array with every value set to 0. I tried also to get the porjection matrix and get the same result. Here’s a function that calls glGetDoublev before a call of gluLookAt and after that call. Both calls of glGetDoublev returns this result:

void setModelview(void)
{
GLdouble temp[16];
// setup model matrix
glGetDoublev(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, temp); // get modelview-matrix
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();
gluLookAt(0.0, 0.0, 100.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0);
glGetDoublev(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX, temp); // get modelview-matrix
}

I’ve no more ideas why this happens…

I’ve noticed the failure occurs ONLY when I call glGetDoublev with parameter GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX and NOT with parameter GL_PROJECTION_MATRIX.

Are you sure that OpenGL context already created and active at time you call correspondent functions?

hmmm, I don’t know. I’m very new to GL. There is the function displayWorld as follows:

{
	GLdouble temp[16];
	GLfloat _directionalVec[] = { 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0 };

setTexture();

setModelview();

glClearColor(0.2, 0.2, 0.2, 0.0);
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);

// set Light position
	glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_POSITION, _directionalVec);

// shift object
	glTranslatef(_shiftX, _shiftY, _shiftZ);

// rotate Object
	glRotatef(_rotObjectX, 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
	glRotatef(_rotObjectY, 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);

// show coordinate system
	if(_showCoordinates == ON)
	{
		glDisable(GL_LIGHTING);
		glDisable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
		glBegin(GL_LINES);
			glColor3ub(255, 0, 0);
			glVertex3f(0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
			glVertex3f(5.0, 0.0, 0.0);

glColor3ub(0, 255, 0);
			glVertex3f(0.0, 5.0, 0.0);

glColor3ub(0, 0, 255);
			glVertex3f(0.0, 0.0, 5.0);
		glEnd();
	}

// show center of spherical mapping
	if(_showOrigin == ON)
	{
		glDisable(GL_LIGHTING);
		glDisable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
		glColor3f(1.0, 1.0, 0.0);
		glPushMatrix();