glFrustum/glOrtho

Could someone explain glFrustum and glOrtho to me? I just really don’t understand what the arguments are supposed to be.

In the red book, they use glFrustrum (-1.0 1.0 -1.0 1.0 1.5 20.0) in an example. why are there negitives? Shouldn’t left and right both be just the height of my screen? and top and bottom both be the width of my screen?

–confused.

void glFrustum(GLdouble left,
GLdouble right,
GLdouble bottom,
GLdouble top,
GLdouble near,
GLdouble far)

by specifying the left, bottom to -1 and right, top to 1, what you are basically doing is making the origin to be at the center of the screen. and no, the parameters need not be the height and width of your screen. it’s up to you. these parameters just sets up the ‘world’ coordinate. (disclaimer: i am not a pro at this so my explanation might be slightly off)

Originally posted by jenny:
[b]Could someone explain glFrustum and glOrtho to me? I just really don’t understand what the arguments are supposed to be.

In the red book, they use glFrustrum (-1.0 1.0 -1.0 1.0 1.5 20.0) in an example. why are there negitives? Shouldn’t left and right both be just the height of my screen? and top and bottom both be the width of my screen?

–confused.[/b]

Both glFrustum and glOrtho define the shape of your viewing volume. That is… the shape of the area where things will be visible.

glOrtho basically defines a viewing volume that is a box, and therefore has no perspective. (e.g. things don’t get smaller as they get further away)

glFrustum defines a viewing volume that is the shape of a 4 sided pyramid with the top chopped off. The near plane being the top. The first four parameters basically establish the width and height of the near clip plane. The fifth parameter defines the distance from your “eye” that the near plane is at.