glDrawElements error!!!!

Hi I am a beginner of OpenGL. Currently working on a co op job, developing a OpenGL application.

I have to use several glDrawElements calls on two different vertex array in one function.

The first vertex array size is arround 17379, the index array size for the first vertex array is around 5793. I am using this vertex array to draw points.

The second vertex array size and the size of its index array are all very small arround 3000, I am using them to draw meshes.

The problem is, the program throws access violation run time error as long as I use glDrawElements to draw the first vertex array. The second vertex array works fine all the time.

I thought the problem is cause by incorrect index array, but I use glbegin glend and glvertex3f in a forloop to draw second vertex array, the problem diapears. It seems that problem is just the glDrawElements.

I also tried to reduce the size of the first vertex array and its index array, the problem disappears!

Any body knows what might cause this kind of problem? I mean the access violation error caused by glDrawElements.

I am stucked, and I know my explaination of the question is not clear, I can provide more detail if you want.
Thank you very much!!! Because its my first co op job, I dont want my employeer disappoint.

Why is your index array smaller than your vertex array? If you are drawing GL_POINTS and you are drawing the entire vertex array then you should have the same amount of indices as you do vertices.

If running other commands causes it to start working it might be because the other commands have allocated memory with data that the first vertex array is bleeding into. Just like accessing array element 12 of a 10 element array, you can still get the data but it will usually be garbage.

Post some code, whats your glDrawElements command look like and how are you creating your arrays?