GL_TRIANGLES

I am calling glBegin (GL_TRIANGLES) with quite a number of points, but when I view my object there appears to be a couple square on screen. Is there any chance that GL:TRIANGLES is optimizing the unnecessary triangles? (i.e. if two triangles form a rectangle, does opengl display the two triangles, or the rectangle?)

If opengl doesn’t optimize, any one have any ideas what my error is?? is it possible to make squares with no diagonal line with gl:triangles?

Thanks

This may or may not be an error depending on what are the points that you are providing to the card. what glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES) does is that it takes every 3 points that you provide and form a triangle from them. ie if you have 6 points in the glBegin()…glEnd(), you have 2 triangles. and yes, it is possible to make a quad with no diagonal lines. (disclaimer: i am not a pro at this so there is a chance that i might be wrong)

First of all, unless you have lighting enabled, all triangles will be the same colour and therefore any pair of adjacent triangles might look like a quad (square in geekspeak). Even with lighting a pair of adjacent triangles might look like a quad if they are coplanar. But maybe I misunderstood your question, is your object displaying properly at all?

My object is not displaying properly at all right now, but before I put the lighting stuff in, and played around with the frustrum, most of my object would render except for 2 cases. I guess a small explanation of what i’m doing in my program might help: i’m creating triangles between two contours, so that I can render the surface between them . . kind of like a crumpled circular ribbon. the two cases that seemed to fail, were either the beginning or the end of the ribbon (which is probably algorithmic) and when two triangles formed what’s called a triangle strip, my program seemed to render only a square when I viewed it as a triangular mesh.