GF4 Go = no VP or VBO?

Our Dell laptop with a geforce4 440 go doesn’t seem to support ARB_VP or VBO. I installed the latest nVidia drivers but the extensions are just not there.

These extensions should be supported by the the gf4 go, right? Is it likely I’m just having trouble installing the drivers?

I noticed Tom’s hardware registry doesn’t include hardware for mobile computers…

The card doesn’t support ARB_vertex_program in hardware, but I’m surprised that it doesn’t provide a software fallback (though I’m no expert on Window drivers).

I can see no reason why it wouldn’t support ARB_vertex_buffer_object…

I could be wrong, but IIRC nvidia doesn’t support mobile gpu’s in their drivers. You need official dell drivers, which are probably way behind the current reference drivers provided by nv.

Ah, that’s probably it! Silly that this isn’t mentioned anywhere obvious. Ruined a presentation it did.

Thanks

If TNT2 at work shows ARB_vbo, I don’t see any reason GF4 shouldn’t have one

The Dells are up to 42.xx if I remember correctly. They were languishing at 28.xx for a YEAR which was kind-of painful.

Anyway, if you use ARB_vertex_program on a GeForce4 Go, then you’ll effectively turn off the hardware transform, and do it all on the CPU. Except for the 4 Go 4200, which is a “real” GeForce 4.

Originally posted by Nutty:
I could be wrong, but IIRC nvidia doesn’t support mobile gpu’s in their drivers. You need official dell drivers, which are probably way behind the current reference drivers provided by nv.

actually you are right, but the only difference between the nividia reference drivers and the dell drivers is in the .inf file. Dell adds resolution settings for the laptop-displays (ie.1400x1050 on my inspirion…)
so if you want to use the newest detonators with your dell system, all you need to do is to add a few lines to the inf file, and that’s all.