getting openGL

I’ve tried in the past to get openGL for programming practice, but have had trouble understanding the requirements.

The problem is I’m pretty much just starting programming. I’m just about done getting my math up to speed and soon I’m going to focus more on learning programming. But I do know a little C++ and would like some practice outside of the borland compiler. If I could use C++ to draw lines and or shapes it would at least give me some practice. Getting nothing but text returned from your program gets old pretty fast.

But I’m very new to programming and don’t understand a lot of the terms such as “libraries” and “api’s” etc. I read a library is a collection of files but I’m not sure exactly what they’re fore and how they work.

Anyways, I want to practice openGL and maybe get a book on OpenGL programming. But I really have difficulty understanding.

I checked my vidoe card and it has “OpenGL” listed on one of the menu tabs, so clearly OpenGL is installed on my card, but where exactly do I go to use it? Isn’t there some sort of IDE somewhere? I heard you have to install certain libraries or something. Can someone explain what it is I have to do? And please, I’m completely new to this so don’t assume I know anything.

I’ve been using game maker to write some programs, but the language it uses is a pain in the neck not having references or pointers. Also you can create only one type of predefined object, you can’t define your own. Besides the language affords me no practice with a real computer language.

Regardless, my knowledge of math is much higher then my programming skill, and I’ve been able to do quite a bit with it. But I could do so much more if it used C++ instead.

Hi Mikau,

For OpenGL coding questions, you want to start in the beginner’s forum. This is the end-user forum.