From gluOrtho2D to 3D

Hello everybody,
I am a newbie with openGL and I am trying to experiment my first project in this field. I followed a guide to draw a Lorenz system in 2D.

I want now to extend my project and switch from 2D to 3D. As far as I know I have to substitute the gluOrtho2D call with either gluPerspective or glFrustum. Unfortunately whatever I try it’s useless.
This is my initialization code:

// set the background color
	glClearColor(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);

/*// set the foreground (pen) color
	glColor4f(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);*/

// set the foreground (pen) color
	glColor4f(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 0.02f);

// enable blending
	glEnable(GL_BLEND);
	glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);

// enable point smoothing
	glEnable(GL_POINT_SMOOTH);
	glPointSize(1.0f);

// set up the viewport
	glViewport(0, 0, 400, 400);

// set up the projection matrix (the camera)
	glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
	glLoadIdentity();
        //gluOrtho2D(-2.0f, 2.0f, -2.0f, 2.0f);
	gluPerspective(45.0f, 1.0f, 0.1f, 100.0f); //Sets the frustum to perspective mode

// set up the modelview matrix (the objects)
	glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
	glLoadIdentity();

while to draw I do this:

glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

// draw some points
	glBegin(GL_POINTS);

// go through the equations many times, drawing a point for each iteration
	for (int i = 0; i < iterations; i++) {

// compute a new point using the strange attractor equations
		float xnew=z*sin(a*x)+cos(b*y);
		float ynew=x*sin(c*y)+cos(d*z);
		float znew=y*sin(e*z)+cos(f*x);

// save the new point
		x = xnew;
		y = ynew;
		z = znew;

// draw the new point
		glVertex3f(x, y, z);
	}
	glEnd();

// swap the buffers
	glutSwapBuffers();

the problem is that I don’t visualize anything in my window. It’s all black. May you kindly help me figuring out what I do wrong? Thanks in advance!

Try adding

glTranslatef(0, 0, -2);

immediately after the above code, to move the rendered points in front of the viewpoint.