Framebuffer copy ms textures on integrated graphics

Hi everyone,

I have no experience in writing OpenGL code for Intel integrated graphics and I was surprised by the amount of GPU time spent on copying framebuffer contents, in particular when it comes to multi-sample textures.

This is the result I got with a simple performance test:

IssueTimestampQuery(timeQueries[_frameCnt % 2 * 2]);

glBindFramebuffer(GL_READ_FRAMEBUFFER, fbo0);
glBindFramebuffer(GL_DRAW_FRAMEBUFFER, fbo1);
glBlitFramebuffer(0, 0, SCR_WIDTH, SCR_HEIGHT, 0, 0, SCR_WIDTH, SCR_HEIGHT, GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT, GL_NEAREST);

IssueTimestampQuery(timeQueries[_frameCnt % 2 * 2 + 1]);
Copy fbo time on Intel Intel(R) UHD Graphics
--------------------------------------------------------------------
>> color and depth size:    1080x1080
>> color format:            GL_RGBA8
>> depth format:            GL_DEPTH_COMPONENT
>> color and depth samples: 4
>> time elapsed:            7786.49 us averaged over 234 frames

>> color and depth samples: 8
>> time elapsed:            16437.7 us averaged over 149 frames

>> color and depth samples: 16
>> time elapsed:            36195.7 us averaged over 103 frames

Copy fbo time on NVIDIA Corporation NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
>> color and depth samples: 4
>> time elapsed:            510.5 us averaged over 306 frames

>> color and depth samples: 8
>> time elapsed:            1437.05 us averaged over 462 frames

>> color and depth samples: 16
>> time elapsed:            2151.57 us averaged over 591 frames
  1. Are those values reasonable or should I suspect there’s something going on (like non up-to-date drivers, which I updated recently by the way)?

2. Does it mean that copy operations with multi-sample resources are not feasible during the render loop on Intel uhd graphics? Are there techniques/perf tips I could implement to make the copy faster?

1 Like