FPS problem? What is wrong?

I was trying to learn texture mapping. I wrote a little code and i did it, but i have a little problem, FPS. I draw two textures and I got 207 FPS. Then, I draw ten textures and I got 45 FPS(And I want to draw 25 texture at least at the same time :s). Is this normal? I added my code here. Please, take a look and tell me what can I do?
My project on Hotfile

Depends on your videocard, and the quantity of pixels drawn on screen.
What is your hardware ?

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650 1GB
Intel Core 2 Duo P8700 2.53Ghz
4GB Ram
Windows 7 Ultimate - 64bit
Here this my notebook? :s If this is not enough, I give up. :slight_smile:

And you are certain to run with ATI OpenGL driver, not the Microsoft software implementation ?
What resolution is your rendering and texture surface ?

Hmmm! I really don’t understand what were you ask?( I am a beginner, so sorry.) However, if you are asking my screen resolution, here it is.

That really sounds like you’re doing something wrong. Texture mapping is an old old old feature (1995/96!) that definitely does not have this kind of performance impact.

I haven’t reviewed your code yet, but I probably will later.

Yes. I really don’t know Zbuffer you were talking about this WDDM thing? When you said, I did a little search, but I don’t understand anything. :slight_smile: However, I updated my graphics card driver and that thing (WDDM) have gone, and now my problem solved. :smiley: I got 3000 fps with drawing 40 textures. That’s make me happy. Thank you very much Zbuffer. I think my problem solved.

glGetString (GL_RENDERER);
glGetString (GL_VERSION);

Try this after your window was created, and tell here what you have. Could be a good start.

FPS is not a good means of measuring performance since it is non-linear. Compare your frame times instead!
For more on this see, e.g., here

Oh no, you’re using a laptop and laptops suck at graphics perf usually. Try a desktop system for development.