flat shaded polygons (fe-mesh) with VBO ?

Hi,

I have some difficulties to render FE-meshes consist of lots
of nodes (vertex points) and elements (quad or tria polygons).

In fact, I want to draw flat shaded polygon meshes using vertex
buffer object(VBO). but don’t know how to specify each polygon
face normal vectors efficiently in VBO.

With vertex array of size N and corresponding normal vector
array of size N (for each vertex), I think GL_N3F_V3F method
cannot get flat shaded result.

Do I need to create duplicated vertices and normal vectors for each faces ?

Is there any method to specify face normal vectors efficiently with VBO ?

thanks in advance.

Since OpenGL doesn’t allow multiple indices for a specific group of vertex attributes, you’ll have to duplicate each normal for a specific face 4 times, regardless of the primitive type. The vertices don’t have to be duplicated.

I’m not good at using VBO yet. How can I use vertices without duplication ?
If I use interleaved array with GL_N3F_V3F, I think I have to duplicate all vertices 4 times also.
If I have 100 vertices and 80 rectangular faces, I need 80 * 4 = 240 normal vectors.
So, array size of vertices is 100 and 240 for normal vectors.
This means different array index number for vertex and normal vectors.
How do I use the normal vector index and vertex index separately with glDrawElement() ?

There’s a couple of ways to do this: