Efficient bitmap text writing using shaders, is it possible?

I’m experienced on the C++ side but a complete novice in GLSL.
Given a texture on the GPU, a vbo with a vector of dx,dy,w,h and a vbo of 8 bit integers, is it possible to do the following (and can anyone show which functions I would have to learn to do this)

1. start at location (x,y)
  2. for each 8-bit integer i, copy a rectangular region from the texture at location (0,32*i) with size (w,h) to (x,y+dy)
  3. x = x + dx

In other words, the texture and the vector of dx,dy,w,h support displaying a font, and the vbo of 8 bit integers is a string.

For a font size 48, with chinese characters, the size of the texture could be 48 x 96000.
This of course exceeds 4k. Do modern cards support this? Obviously the font could be stored into a rectangular grid but that is more complicated and possibly slower.

Also, could I support an if statement, ie

if i == ‘\n’ {
x = 0 y = y + 32;
}

to move to the next line?

Two issues:

1. If you want to supply one vertex per glyph, you’ll need to use either a geometry shader or instancing to convert that to a pair of triangles. Both have a performance cost relative to using 4 vertices per glyph.

2. The x = x + dx part is a bit awkward for shaders. Shader invocations run in parallel so you can’t pass values from a previous invocation to a subsequent invocation. It would be simpler (and possibly more efficient) to calculate the positions on the CPU. If you must do this on the GPU, look up “parallel prefix sum” (which is an O(n*log(n)) algorithm, whereas a sequential prefix sum is O(n)).