Easy way to load and use a bmp, jpg, or tga file without windows progrmming know-how?

I’m very new to openGL. I picked up a book and started reading, and im in the process of creating a game for my senior highschool project. Basically, i need to find out how to load a bmp or similar type if image to set as a background.

I know that you can load the bmp (or whatever) and then map it as a texture to a quad. Unfortunately, i don’t know how to load it (or map it, for that matter, but i have a general idea)

I visited NeHe, and their tutorial was confusing with all the Windows API stuff…i know nothing about windows programing, only C++.

I tried some sample code others have posted, but when Microsoft Visual C++ 6 tries to compile, it give an error with the FILE* bmpfile; declaration. Windows.h is included in my program.

Anyway, if anyone could help me out and point me to a place that tells how to load a bmp WITHOUT all the windows api stuff, or supply me with some code, i would be very grateful, as i am running out of time.

try using glfw
it provides a very easy interface to load targas
alternately you could include stdio.h and use the routines that others provided you with

At the GLFW site , you can find some OpenGL beginners tutorials (enough to get you started). Together with the comprehensive GLFW documentation and example programs, it should be a snap to get Targa texture loading and application running (hint: the glfwLoadTexture2D function loads a Targa from disk, and uploads it to texture memory, and even optionally builds all mipmap levels for you - in one function call).

Ok, ill take a look at that. Thanks for everyone’s help

Hmm, one quick question…this CAN be used in conjunction with GLUT, right?

GLUT is just a set of helper functions for OpenGL, so yes, anything that works with OpenGL should work with OpenGL/GLUT.