Drawing 2 triangles using transformations

Hi guys,

I’m fairly new to OpenGL and have been trying to learn it by following the textbook : “Learn OpenGL” by Joe DeVries. I am stuck on one of the exercises they provided, i.e:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]2798[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]2798[/ATTACH]

I have taken a look at their solution (Code Viewer. Source code: getting-started/transformations-exercise2) however have not been successful in drawing 2 triangles with 2 different transformations.

Apart from a few differences (I do not use a separate ‘shader class’ and I have not included textures) my code appears to be very similar to the solution, however the result I get is that of a stationary triangle that has rotated once but does not continue to rotate (which I assume it should since it is in a while loop).

void MyOpenGL::render()
{
	glfwPollEvents();
	glClearColor(0.f, 0.f, 0.f, 1.f);
	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
	glUseProgram(shaderProgram);

glm::mat4 trans;
	trans = glm::rotate(trans, glm::radians(20.f),glm::vec3(0.5f, 0.f, 0.f));
	GLuint transformLoc = glGetUniformLocation(shaderProgram, "transform");
	glUniformMatrix4fv(transformLoc, 1, GL_FALSE, &trans[0][0]);
	glDrawArrays(GL_TRIANGLES, 0, 3);
	glBindVertexArray(vao);
	trans = glm::mat4();
	//trans = glm::translate(trans, glm::vec3(0.01f, 0.f, 0.f));
	trans = glm::rotate(trans, glm::radians(10.f), glm::vec3(0.f, 0.f, 1.0f));
	glUniformMatrix4fv(transformLoc, 1, GL_FALSE, &trans[0][0]);
	glDrawArrays(GL_TRIANGLES, 0, 3);

glBindVertexArray(0);
	glfwSwapBuffers(window);
}

//main loop
int main()
{
	MyOpenGL one;
	while (!one.shouldWindowClose())
	{
		one.render();
	}

one.terminate();

return 0;
}

//my vertex shader 
#version 330 core
in layout (location = 0) vec2 position;
in layout (location = 1) vec3 vertexColour;

out vec3 theColour;

uniform mat4 transform;
void main()
{
	gl_Position = transform * vec4(position, 0.0f, 1.0f);
	theColour = vertexColour;
};