Disabling automatic XrWaitFrame delay?

Hi
If I understand correctly then the runtime may measure application render time and adjust the return time of the XrWaitFrame call such that the rendering is ready just in time. This to get the lowest latency possible.
But in our game engine we want to use all render time possible and use automatic quality control to adjust the render time such that rendering is ready just in time (but uses the full frame time). Therefore we would like to disable this automatic delay. Is that possible?

1 Like

I am new to the API, so I can only offer my early impressions. Unfortunately it doesn’t seem like there is any configuration for this.

The workaround would be to render to a separate staging image so that you are not blocked on the xrWaitSwapchainImage call to begin work rendering the frame. And then the only work being blocked is a final blit to the swapchain image.

1 Like

This sounds like a deeper pipelining, which is supported. IIRC Unreal does something like this: they start some non-pose-dependent render work in the background 2 frames ahead, using predictedDisplayTime + predictedDisplayInterval to estimate the following frame time.