Depth in register combiner

Hi,

I need to know the fragments depth (more precisely, the distance of a fragment from the light source) in a register combiner program on a GeForce 4.

I have tried to calculate the distance per vertex in a vertex program program and store the result in o[COL0]. I have clamped the distance to the range [0;1]. My question is
now: When I use the col0 register in the combiner program, does it contain the correct interpolated (to [0;1] clamped) depth of the fragment? The result I get looks rather strange. Is there any mistake in my approach or have I made an error in reasoning?

Any ideas?

Mako

Color interpolation is done linearly. Distance is nonlinear, but coordinate deltas are linear. So if you store the distance, then it won’t work quite right, but if you store the delta and use that to calculate the distance squared with a dot product, it should work.

I am not that experienced in using register combiners. You mean, I should store in o[COL0] the difference lightposition - vertexposition (both in modelspace). And then I can calculate the squared distance in register combiners by using the dot product.
But how can I get the squareroot of this dotproduct, the length of the distance of the fragment from the light source? Another question, how is col0 clamped to [0;1]? Deltas in the vertex program can be values > 500. I do not find anything in NVidias documentation about that. Sorry for asking maybe stupid questions, but I am a little bit confused. Thanks for any help.

You store positions as fractions of the cutoff radius, so that all three components are in the range [-1,1].