Debugging point shadow depth cubemap generation (with lots of RenderDoc screenshots)

Hello,

I’ve been trying to implement omnidirectional point light shadows using a depth cubemap, following the excellent tutorials on LearnOpenGL. I’ve run into a bit of a wall with rendering the cubemap. My gut feeling is that my problem is in the geometry shader; or possibly with the directional transform matrices that get sent to the GS to render to each of the cube faces.

First, some basic info on what I’m building. This application is OpenGL 4.5, with all shaders using version 450 core. I’m developing it in C# with OpenTK, and so far haven’t had any problems with the OpenGL bindings. I’ve also implemented a number of things like model loading, light bloom effects, geometry shader normal debugging (from the same excellent tutorial site) without any issues. I’ve done OpenGL apps a long time ago, but they were all in C++, immediate mode GL 1.x and I’ve never done shadow mapping before, so apologies in advance for the excessive number of RenderDoc screenshots you are about to behold.

Here is the OpenGL context information:

Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 442.50
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce RTX 2060/PCIe/SSE2
Shading Language Version: 4.50 NVIDIA

The shadow depth cubemap (bound to a depth-only framebuffer) for the point light is generated as follows (verified this by inspecting the cubemap in RenderDoc):

• Size: 1024x1024
  • Pixel Type: Float
  • Pixel Format: Depth Component
  • Pixel Internal Format: Depth Component 24
  • S/T/R Wrap Modes: Clamp to Edge
  • Min/Mag Filter: Nearest

OpenGL is using the following settings during the depth-only render pass, again verified in RenderDoc:

• Depth Test: Enabled
  • Depth Write Enabled: True
  • Depth Function: Less (Tried it with Always, same results)
  • Depth Mask: True