crossplatform opengl programming

im new to this, i want to create a window with 3d content that would be able to be used on any platform windowsXX linux mac whatever.
-my- pc is windows millenium (Me)…, so, do i read the windows installation and use it? is that installation used to create windows only application? you can notice im a bit confused here.
would you mind posting a step by step ‘tutorial’ from installing to coding, compiling and executing a crossplatform program that uses opengl (maybe a link to a tutorial that explains that).
Im mostly interested on not having to rewrite the code to use it on another OS.

to make something crossplatform you need to use only crossplatform tools in your source. This means things like OpenGL, OpenAL, SDL whatever and you will have crossplatform source code. The executable itself cannot be crossplatform, it will need to be recompiled for a given OS. That is my understanding of it, anyone who knows better feel free to correct me.

yes, it has to be recompiled. Where can i find a list of crossplatform tools (general) if any?

Programming in C/C++ is good place to start since it is a standard. Just becareful if you use compiler like Microsoft Visual C++, not to use some of its non-standarded C/C++ functions in your program.

Another compiler option for windows is to use something like the DEV-C++ since it comforms to the C/C++ standard.

As the other poster suggested, the following have Windows, Mac and Linux support:

GLUT library // open window, mouse, keyboard support
SDL library www.libsdl.org // open window, mouse, keyboard, joystick, sound

QT library www.trolltech.com // GUI, window, etc.

www.openAL.org // Sound library
www.openML.org // Video/Audio stream library

Originally posted by <newbie>:
yes, it has to be recompiled. Where can i find a list of crossplatform tools (general) if any?

Unless you want to consider writing your application in Java? Take a look at the following: