Creating window, initializing opengl

HI

im using VS 2010 C++ Express
I created empty project and put there window. I need that on the button press it will create the openGL window. I found the code for creating the window but it access wrong memory address. The code for create and initialize window is as usual:

glutInit(&argc, argv);
	glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGB | GLUT_DEPTH);
	glutInitWindowSize(400, 400);
	glutCreateWindow("test");

pleas help, im new to opengl.

I don’t like to be rude… but the web is full of tutorial that explain how to create a window with an openGl context.

http://nehe.gamedev.net/
http://www.lighthouse3d.com/opengl/glut/

Then when you ask for help can you please explain your problem properly? Witch line give you the segmentation fault? Can we see the call stack? Witch version of glut are you using? Windows? 64bit?
Are you using Unicode but your library don’t support them?
Those four line of code are correct, so the problem must be elsewhere.

Rule #1 - always, always, always, when you’re trying something new for the first time, run your program in the debugger. In MSVC go to Configuration Manager, set your Active Configuration to “Debug”, press Ctrl-Shift-B to build, then F5 to debug. If your program crashes it will halt on the line it crashed on and you can do lots of cool stuff like examine the values of variables, the contents of memory locations, the call stack, and other useful things.

In your case my suspicion is - like Rosario said - that your project is set up to use Unicode and that’s conflicting with GLUT. Another possibility is conflicts between the Visual C++ runtime you’ve selected and GLUT. You should know how to modify these in your project properties - learning how to get the best use out of your IDE is a vital part of programming.