Converting from glBegin/glVertex*/glEnd to using Buffer Objects and shaders

Hello All,

I am just beginning to do a large leap from the classical way of using OpenGL 1.2 to the more modern way by using VAO/VBO and shaders. I am going to need a bit of help with some of the understanding as the books that I have read don’t go into the details enough in which they rely heavily on GLUT and GLEW for which I will not be using.

So, let me start by explaining my data. I am reading in several VRML files which is nothing more than a definition of an object by way of materials, coordinated, normal vectors and indexes for the later. Generally these files are structured as having a Materials Section always, a coordinates section always and may or may not include normals. The materials are always defined as per primitive, I.E. per triangle. As well as the data, there is always a coordinate index table and an material index table. In the coordinates table, there is always a restart index for the triangle primitive of -1. So this means that to describe a triangle there is a sequence in the index table like [0,3,10,-1][3,10,15,-1]…

In my existing code, I hold all the materials data (Ambient,Diffuse,Specular,Shininess,Transparency) in separate arrays. As well, I hold all of the coordinate vertexes in a separate array. For the normal vectors, if they are not included in the file, then they are created from the triangles and stored into an array. Yes my normal vectors are per triangle/primitive. Along with the actual data is stored two index array tables, one for vertexs and one for materials. Generally speaking, the count of elements in the materials index array are either the vertex index count/3 or exactly one. This allows me to assign the material either per object, or per primitive/triangle. My rendering loop goes like this:

if(FVisible)
    {

glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);

LMatIndex = 0;

try
        {