Convert a byte array into an image

Hi,

I’m very new to OpenGL and it seems to me that it could fulfill the requirements of my project :
I want to write a kind of “Game of life” program in C++, I will compute in a 2D array the state of the system from a previous state and a transition function. Each entry will take a float value between 0 and 1 (or more conveniently a byte between 0 and 255), and I wonder how I could draw an image by coloring each pixel in shades of grey from each value in this array. Then I want to redraw the image after each (or some) time step.

The dynamic aspect of this drawing project brought me here, but I struggle to find a starting point (I’ve read a bit about textures but I haven’t found how to build it from my array yet). Could you confirm or disconfirm my idea to use OpenGL for this application ? Do you have some hints to begin in the right direction ?

Thank you for your help.

[QUOTE=Singularite;1284333]Hi,

I’m very new to OpenGL and it seems to me that it could fulfill the requirements of my project :
I want to write a kind of “Game of life” program in C++, I will compute in a 2D array the state of the system from a previous state and a transition function. Each entry will take a float value between 0 and 1 (or more conveniently a byte between 0 and 255), and I wonder how I could draw an image by coloring each pixel in shades of grey from each value in this array. Then I want to redraw the image after each (or some) time step.

The dynamic aspect of this drawing project brought me here, but I struggle to find a starting point (I’ve read a bit about textures but I haven’t found how to build it from my array yet). Could you confirm or disconfirm my idea to use OpenGL for this application ? Do you have some hints to begin in the right direction ?

Thank you for your help.[/QUOTE]

That sounds like something you would use opengl for.