Compress images before reading back from GPU

I need to read back (readpixels through PBOs) huge amounts of data from GPU memory to system memory. Of course this is the biggest bottleneck in my application. Since most of the time the images could be compressed very well even with something like RLE compression, I am thinking about saving time by RLE-compressing them before readback.

Is this at all possible with OpenGL and/or GLSL? And if it isn’t, then can I use Cuda/OpenCL for this purpose and is it even a good idea if I presume that I can achieve (on average) at least a 2:1 compression?

Thanks.

RLE is hard to parallelize so not sure how a cuda/CL kernel could help.
I am no expert on compressed GL textures, but a good guess might be to try glCopyTexSubImage2D to a compressed texture, then glGetCompressedTexImage2D to retrieve the compressed version.
http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man/xhtml/glGetCompressedTexImage.xml

Then there is the choice of usable compression format. All those I am aware of are lossy, so that may not be suitable to you…
These venerable S3TC formats are often available :
http://www.opengl.org/registry/specs/EXT/texture_compression_s3tc.txt
For very modern hardware, there is new better block compressor available :
http://www.opengl.org/registry/specs/ARB/texture_compression_bptc.txt

Thanks for your reply.

I was afraid that it would be difficult to parallelize something like this. However, I do not dare to risk lossy compression.

To do parallel RLE with good performance, you’d probably want to block the data so you can farm out the compression across a large number of cores in parallel.

But before that, it’s also worth measuring what kind of readback performance you’re getting right now. For PCIe v2 x16, you should be getting up to 8 GB/sec (theory) or ~6.4GB/sec (in practice).