compiling openGL with C language

I am a beginner to graphics and to OpenGL.
I can see in the program examples in the book ‘OpenGL Premier’ that the "include <stdlib> appears together with openGL. When I compile it, it gives me the next error:
Error E2337 c:\Borland\include\stdlibr.h 584: only one of a set of overloaded functions can be ‘C’.
Therefore I can not use stdlib or fstream or some others to produce.

Can you tell me how can I do, to be able to compile it (under Windows, Borland 5) with stdlib librarie from C language, as I have seen on the examples on the book from OpenGL.

I wait for your answers, Thank you.

Maybe:
#include <stdlib.h>

???

#include<stdlib>
might be some horrific C++ thing.

if the file you are compiling has a .c extension change it to .cpp, that might solve your problem

The extension of my file is .cpp
It is a very simple C program with OpenGL basics
My compiling line is bcc32 c rogram.cpp
It is than under Borland version 5
Other libraries are accepted but no stdlib and fstream.

From the error, it sounds sort of like you have 2 functions of the same name being declared extern “C”. Possibly you are using

#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

And somewhere else has #include <stdlib.h>?

That SHOULDN’T cause a problem because cstdlib should basically just wrap stdlib.h in the std namespace. Not sure what else the problem could be, though.

Try removing the #include <stdlib>, it is only needed with some C compilers. You may not need it with yours.

Originally posted by ida:
[b]I am a beginner to graphics and to OpenGL.
I can see in the program examples in the book ‘OpenGL Premier’ that the "include <stdlib> appears together with openGL. When I compile it, it gives me the next error:
Error E2337 c:\Borland\include\stdlibr.h 584: only one of a set of overloaded functions can be ‘C’.
Therefore I can not use stdlib or fstream or some others to produce.