compile opengl & glut in linux redhat

im trying to compile opengl under linux, its my first time, but only i have undefined references…

gcc -L/usr/lib -I/usr/include -lGLU -lglut prueba.c -o prueba.o

what is the right way to compile this kind of of program?

Hi !

Try to add -lGL also, this is the OpenGL library, if it still doesn’t work then check the order of the names (-lGLU -lglut -lGL) the gnu linker is picky about the order of the libraries.

Mikael

If that still doesn’t work, try posting exact errors. It makes it much easier to help you figure out what’s wrong. Without them all we can do is guess… Though, in this case I’m guessing it’s just because you didn’t include the -lGL.

the program:

#include <GL/glut.h>

void init();
void reshape(int w, int h);
void display();

void init()
{
glClearColor(1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0);
}
void display()
{
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT); //Clears the Framebuffer with the color
glFlush();
}
void reshape(int w, int h)
{
glViewport(0,0, w, h);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
glOrtho(-10.0, 10.0, -10.0, 10.0, -10.0, 10.0);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();
}
int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
glutInit(&argc,argv);
glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_SINGLE | GLUT_RGB);
glutInitWindowPosition(20,20);
glutInitWindowSize(400,400);
glutCreateWindow(“Example 1”);
init(); //THIS IS NOT A GLUT FUNCTION! However, by convention, many
glutDisplayFunc(display);
glutReshapeFunc(reshape);
glutMainLoop();
return 0;
}

THE COMPILE LINE:
gcc -L/usr/lib -I/usr/include -lGL -lGLU -lglut prueba.c -o prueba.o

the error:
cc1: warning: changing search order for system directory “/usr/include”
cc1: warning: as it has already been specified as a non-system directory
/usr/lib/libglut.so: undefined reference to glXBindChannelToWindowSGIX' /usr/lib/libglut.so: undefined reference toglXCreateContextWithConfigSGIX’