Clipping Planes in JOGL

Hello, I am quite new to JOGL (and OpenGL in general).
I am building an application for an assignment. I’m attempting to make a ‘TARDIS’, from the Doctor Who series (basically a box that’s bigger on the inside than on the outside).
For it to look nice, I need to use two clipping planes to render the interior of the TARDIS from the exterior. I got the plane equations for that (x + z = 0 and x - z = 0, where x and z are the camera’s position) but I cannot find the glClipPlane function. NetBeans doesn’t even find the function in the GL3 object.
Do I have to enable something in the vertex/fragment .glsl files? Do I have an old version of JOGL? Thanks in advance.

glClipPlane() and glEnable(GL_CLIP_PLANEi) are deprecated in OpenGL 3+, so they aren’t available in a core profile context.

The new approach is to use glEnable(GL_CLIP_DISTANCEi) and have the vertex shader write to gl_ClipDistance[i].

Thanks! Could you provide me with an example? Where do I add these functions, and where do I define the planes?

A better way to do this is with the stencil buffer. You basically render the entrance to the TARDIS, but you use write masking so that you only update the stencil buffer (you should still use the depth test). When you render the interior, you render it using the stencil test, such that only those fragments being written to pixels that have the stencil value laid down by the TARDIS entrance pass.

That way, all pixels that aren’t explicitly behind the TARDIS door will be culled by the stencil test.

Right, so let me see if I understood it:

First, I’ll need a rectangle to define my door, which in my case is (2,0,-2),(2,4,-2),(-2,0,-2) and (-2,4,-2).
Then, instead of drawing it, I’ll use it to draw on the stencil buffer:

glColorMask( GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE, GL_FALSE );
rectangle.draw();

After that, I need to enable the stencil test and draw the interior:

glEnable(GL_STENCIL_TEST);
interior.draw();
glDisable(GL_STENCIL_TEST);