Caustics

Well, I’m not sure if this should go in the advanced section or not, as I feel like I’m a beginner to opengl.

I’m trying to render an underwater scene, I currently have a terrain - using a heightmap, particles in the water - GL_POINTS, and a pipe with a leak and bubbles - more particles - coming out of it.

It is written in C++ using MFC and I’m using Visual Studio .Net Environment. I’m hoping to implement Caustics, I found this http://www.opengl.org/developers/code/mjktips/caustics/ on your website but can’t quite get my head around the code. I was wondering/hoping that somebody might help me with this, by explainig the code found on the website mentioned. Or if someone has done this already then could they let me know how.

I have an nVidia Geforce 3 graphics card, if this would make any difference at all.

Thanks

jotch.

I’m the Angus Dorbie that Mark’s text mentions.

The idea is quite simple, you have an animated pattern that represents the refracted underwater light contribution. This was borrowed from a guy called Jos Stam who has written papers on this stuff, we don’t need to worry about the details because Jos provided some cool textures that Mark & I used.

To apply this in an OpenGL scene today you simply apply it to the scene as a second texture. Using multitexture with a GL_MODULATE function makes this very simple, the only tricky part is generating the texture coordinates that are required to apply the pattern over the scene, again this is simple because OpenGL provides a mechanism called texgen for this. You simply enable texgen for s & t coordinates and provide suitable plane equations. Then you cycle through the animated texture images over time to get the full effect.

So conceptually it’s simple, you modulate the scene by an additional texture representing an animated caustic pattern.

If you have additional questions let me know, there really are only 2 OpenGL implementations stages; using multitexture and applying texgen.