Camera matrix definition

Hello.
I have been studying computer vision for a while and now I am approaching OpenGL for the first time. I am trying to develop a small application, but there is a mismatch from what I studied and what I see in the OpenGL definitions.

Until now, I have been dealing with a so called “camera matrix”, usually indicated with P (ref: Multiple View Geometry in Computer Vision, R. Hartley and A. Zisserman, Cambridge University Press, 2000; and many other books).This is a 4x3 matrix that performs the projection from 3D points to 2D projected points. Since to describe a 3D point in homogenous coordinates we need 4-vectors, and 3-vectors to do the same with 2D points, the P matrix is 4x3.
If X is the 3D point defined as X=(x,y,z,w) and x is its projection on a plane defined as x=(x,y,w), then x=PX.

Now, as far as I have seen in OpenGL there are only 4x4 matrices, defining rotations, reshaping, translations and projections. What is the relationship between the camera matrix P that I’m used to use and the OpenGL matrices? Why also the projection matrix is a 4x4 matrix?

Thank you

Have fun :
http://www.glprogramming.com/red/appendixf.html#name2

I guess even if not all matrices need to be 4x4, they are done this way to be completely generic and invertible.

For camera matrix its ok if you store it internally as 4x3 to save some space. projection matrix on other hand can have meaningful values in all 16 field and has to be 4x4. to make it possible to multily them and get a ModelViewProjection you have to provide the camera and world matrices as 4x4 as well. also as ZbuffeR said you can invert only square matrices and internally the driver does many things with your provided matrices.