camera directions...

ok, I am relatively new to OpenGL (student didn’t have the time between finals and APs).

Anyway, I drew some stuff in OpengGL and now I want to navigate through the environment being able to look up, down, left and right, instead of walking forward or sideways… I am using glTranslatef() to move the camera… is there a more efficent way to navigate through the world? or how about turning the camera 60 or 90 degrees w/o moving?!?

Any help will be appreciated.

-Navreet

I JUST thought of this, but should I use glRotatef() to move the entire world around me, instead of the camera moving itself?!

Is this the best way to do it? (Is it even a way?). Again any comments would be appreciated.

-Navreet

[This message has been edited by ngill (edited 06-05-2000).]

There are no camera in OpenGL. Just a viewpoint located at the world origin.

When you move the “camera” forward, you are actually moving the world backwards. This is the only way to do it in OpenGL, aswell as in any API. Ok, some API’s got functions that say you move the camera, but actually you are moving the world in the oposite direction.

You should either use glTranslate/glRotate OR gluLookAt (i recomend you use this one) to setup the viewpoint.

ca=cos(anglex0.0174533);
sa=sin(anglex
0.0174533);
looky=-sin(angley0.0174533);
d=-cos(angley
0.0174533);
lookx=sad;
lookz=ca
d;
lookupy=-sin((angley+90.0)0.0174533);
d=-cos((angley+90.0)0.0174533);
lookupx=sa
d;
lookupz=ca
d;

[glRotatef(anglez, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);]
gluLookAt (xpos, ypos, zpos, xpos+lookx, ypos+looky, zpos+lookz, lookupx, lookupy, lookupz);

anglex: rotation round y-axis
angley: rotation round x-axis
[anglez: rotation round z-axis](if you need it)

Try this and you will be happy

Thanks, I’ll look into that.