Buffer Shaders

Good evening every body.

To present my self very fast, i’m a french student and i want become a 3D developer. i supose like you ! :wink: Now days, i program since 3 years in OpenGL. So i’m very well with all programable shaders and VBOs. I write this message to submit my suggestion for the next release. Since OpenGL 4.0, the graphic shaders pipe line is :

• Vertex Shader
  • Tessellation Control Shader
  • Tessellation Evaluation Shader
  • Geometry Shader
  • Fragment Shader

And i enjoy Tessellation Shaders : there are a very nice new technology ! Well Done !
My suggestion is : add a new shader type like this :

• Buffer Shader <- the new shader
  • Vertex Shader
  • Tessellation Control Shader
  • Tessellation Evaluation Shader
  • Geometry Shader
  • Fragment Shader

This mysterious shader should be create for programming our own memory access to GL_ARRAY_BUFFERs and GL_ELEMENT_ARRAY_BUFFERs. It should be specialize in unsigned integer computation. I think you will understand why.

example code for GL_PATCH_VERTICES = 3:
// ------------------ BUFFER SHADER

#version 420 // (I supose ??? =D)

uniform layout(location = 0) arrayBuffer VertexBuffer ; // it's a 3 float components array store in the GPU's memory
uniform layout(location = 1) arrayBuffer TextureCoordBuffer ; // it's a 2 float components array store in the GPU's memory
uniform layout(location = 2) arrayBuffer TriangleNormalBuffer ;  // it's a 3 float components int array store in the GPU's memory
uniform layout(location = 3) arrayBuffer IdBuffer ; // it's a unsigned int array store in the GPU's memory

out vec4 Vertex ;
out vec2 TextureCoord ;
out vec3 TriangleNormal ;

void main ()
{
// ---------- CALCUL VERTEX MEMORY POSITION
    uint VertexPosition = getUint(IdBuffer, gl_PatchId * 3 + gl_VertexId);

// ---------- LOAD VERTEX VECTORS
    Vertex = vec4(getVec3(VertexBuffer, VertexPosition * 12), 1.0);        // 12 = 3 * sizeof(float) = 3 * 4