ARB_texture_env_combine problem

Hi there,

I am new to OpenGL ARB texture combine stuff. I am trying to combine 2 textures using a third one as an interpolant.
I have not found examples using the INTERPOLATE_ARB combine option. According to the OpenGL doc, it looks very much like what I am trying to achieve where Arg0 is my first texture Arg1 is my second texture and Arg2 is the interpolant texture, which in my case is a gray shaded textures. What is the proper syntax to use?

Also while I do understand what EXTURE and PREVIOUS_ARB stand for, I do not understand what PRIMARRY_COLOR_ARB and CONSTANT_ARB refer to.

I would appreciate any help on that matter.

Note that I know that I could perform such operation using the fragment program, unfortunately my portable with mobility 9000 does not recognize the ARB_fragment_program extension (for now).

Thanks for any feedback

Eric

PRIMARY_COLOR_ARB is the interpolated fragment color. It’s the same color you’d get without any texturing, ie the one you control with the glColor* calls (and glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH); or GL_FLAT).

GL_CONSTANT_ARB is a per-texture unit constant available as input to the blending equations. You set it up like this:

float opaque_green[4]={0.0f,0.0f,1.0f,1.0f};
float transparent_red[4]={1.0f,0.0f,0.0f,0.0f};
glActiveTextureARB(GL_TEXTURE0_ARB);
glTexEnvfv(GL_TEXTURE_ENV,GL_TEXTURE_ENV_COLOR,opaque_green);
glActiveTextureARB(GL_TEXTURE1_ARB);
glTexEnvfv(GL_TEXTURE_ENV,GL_TEXTURE_ENV_COLOR,transparent_red);

The texture combine equation on unit 0 will now see (0;0;1;1) if it references GL_CONSTANT_ARB, and likewise (1;0;0;0) on unit 1.

What you require is not possible with texture_env_combine. You have to read two textures in the second texture unit (the texture with the interpolation factor and the second texture to be interpolated), but you can only read one. You will have to look into more advanced extensions which provides other combine formulas.