anyone know how to use the ALIGNMENT parameter used in the glPixelStore

I am new to the opengl and readign the red book.i don’t know the how alignment pname used in the function glPixelstore.The book does not give away explanation which make myselves understood.

the red book give a example on the page 310,
it reads “if the image is 5 pixels wide and each pixel consists of 1 byte each of red,green,and blue information,a row requires 5x3=15 bytes of data,Maximum display efficiency can be achieved if the first row,and each successive row,begins on a 4-byte boundary,so there is 1 byte of waste in the memory storage for each row.”

Why we can not set the alignment set to 3,because each pixel data occupy 3 byte. and if the alignment is 4 there is 1 byte of waste each row, there should be(4-3)*5=5 waste each row.

Can anyone enlight me on this little point ,best Appreciated .

Regards

GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT and GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT specify how to (and whether or not to) pad each row of images that are read from and written to, respectively, OpenGL pipeline. Valid values are 1 (byte alignment), 2 (word alignment), 4 (dword alignment), and 8 (qword alignment). Defaults for both are 4. The calls are:

glPixelStorei(GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT, value);
glPixelStorei(GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT, value);

For example, if your GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT is 8, each image read from OpenGL (for example, with glReadPixels or glGetTexImage), whose (width * sizeof(one-pixel)) is not a multiple of 8, will be right-padded (in each row) to the nearest multiple of 8.

Likewise with GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT, except now we are talking about glDrawPixels and glTexImage1D/glTexImage2D. If GL_PACK_ALIGNMENT is 8, the OpenGL pipeline assumes that each row of image it is requested to read is right-padded to the nearest multiple of 8.