any rad?

hi all,
i’m quite new to opengl programming; i’ve done a few apps in c all written by hand.
As far as you know is there any program that can “speeds up” developement? i mean: some program that allows to model (ie using mouse) an object and then gives the coordinates (so that i don’t have to calculate all by hand)?

sorry for the poor explanation of the problem, but as you might imagine english is not my natural language :slight_smile:
thanks in advance for any answer.

Sounds like you want something that will help create the framework and/or UI for your applications correct? Have you looked into Anjuta and Glade? Anjuta is a development environment, and glade is used to generate GTK+ based user interfaces. I haven’t used either much myself, but they do work fairly well. Do a quick search to find the appropriate web pages.

thanks Septor, i admit i didn’t know about Anjuta and it seems quite good (at least by looking at screenshots, i’m downloading it right now); i’ll let you know… :wink:

However, that’s not what i asked for :frowning:
i’ll try to explain again with an example:
to draw a triangle, i’d write something like:
glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);
glVertex3f(0.0, 0.0, 0.0);
glVertex3f(1.0, 0.0, 0.0);
glVertex3f(0.5, 0.0, 1.0);
glEnd();
i have to supply coordinates for that. i was asking for a sort of 3d modeler: let’s say it lets me choose a primitive (ie. triangle) and rotate, stretch, etc. then it says: 'ok, you want this triangle? these are the coordinates: vertex1: 0, 0, 0; vertex2: 0,…
something like the Povray Modeler, if you know it.

So you are looking for a 3D modelling program to make your models with. See:

http://www.blender.org/
http://www.wings3d.com/

And search your distros packages for a 3d modeller to find additional ones.

// ville

thanks a lot, ville.

before i forget:
memcpy(&my_brain, “3d modeller”, sizeof(my_stupidity)); :smiley: