Alpha Mask shader using PKM compressed texture ETC1 format RGB888 - artifacts

Hello,

I’ve spent many weeks trying to solve this problem by trawling through google and have since been unable to resolve the issue.

I am a mobile developer and I ran in to the issue of running out of memory and poor performance for the Android platform using OpenGL ES 2.0, that was when I became aware of compressed textures. The PVR format for iOS solved all my problems there. However there is not such a simple alternative for Android. The only compressed texture format supported on all devices is ETC1. Great so I can utilize ETC1 to get increased performance and reduced memory usage.

Not so great… :doh: the ETC1 texture format does not support the alpha channel, so I had to solve this problem differently. A common approach is to provide the alpha channel of an image as an alpha mask in a separate compressed texture stored in one of the RGB channels. So there would be one texture (.pkm) that contains the real RGB values of the opaque parts of the image and another separate texture (.pkm) that contains the alpha channel.

Thankfully there is a tool that does exactly this and separates a png for example in such a way. Mali texture compression tool.

So with a bit of effort and research I was able to create a shader that took the RGB channels from one texture sampler and created a color from that and then another texture sampler for the alpha mask which took the alpha from one of the rgb channels and put it in the alpha channel for the new colour.

I then discovered that my Blend function was wrong, I changed this to (GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SOURCE_ALPHA)

So I have nearly the desired effect, if you’ve read this far here is the problem: