Alignment of virtual environment to real environment

Hi, all
I am looking for a way to load in a custom mesh which I have saved using the Device Portal. I had the mesh loaded into Unity and then created different objects and placed them around the mesh in Unity.
The Unity project is aimed to be a short AR experience for HoloLens 2 with interactable objects appearing In specific locations specific to the environment the application is launched.
My goal is to have the custom mesh being loaded at a specific position, each time the application is started aligning the virtual environment with the real environment.

I first tried using the Azure anchors, but that didn´t seem to be suited for the task, I might be wrong (I am very new to this kind of stuff.) Then I read about “WorldAnchorStore” and this seems to be what I want. Can any of you guide me in the right direction?

Here is a picture of the custom mesh for reference:

1 Like

An update on my attempt to solve this:
I have decided to proceed using Azure: I will create a prefab that contains all my unity objects which I will place manually in an Azure session the first time using the HoloLens. And save the anchor to disk and load it from disk whenever the application is launched. I will limit rotations of the prefab to the y-axis and restrict moving the prefab to a single handed manipulation event to prevent moving it when rotating. And I might decide on adding buttons to adjust the position of the prefab for fine adjustment. this is a hacky solution and if any of you see an alternative. it would be much appreciated if you would share it with me. Thank you.

I agree with you. Using azure spatial anchor (ASA) in unity will likely give you better compatibility across multiple HL2 devices and allow you to share the location across users.