Accurate Colour Picking

Hey there!

I’ve been playing around with picking a lot recently, both raycasting and color-picking. After success in both of these areas, I wanted to try and make these algorithms faster and more effective.

After a quick brainstorm, I have an idea that probably won’t work but I guess is worth a shot. My idea is to the rgb spectrum to the xyz coordinates (with a shaders like this: https ://jsfiddle.net/4nzkwesg/1/ ), and then use getPixels or something to return the rgb value (and therefore the xyz coords). I’ve found a way to differentiate between the positive and negative axis (with the alpha) so that isn’t a worry.

What I need to ask is whether this is a potentially viable idea? are there any nuances with the colours in glsl that would make it innacurate?

I’m pretty new to all this so help would be greatly appreciated

In my experience the primary goal of picking is to identify the “object” (whatever the application defines as such a thing) under the mouse cursor, not so much the coordinates the mouse is over. If all you want is the latter then that can be obtained from the depth buffer, the window space x,y mouse coordinate and the viewport, projection, and view transformations: use the mouse coordinates to look up depth, apply the inverse of the three mentioned transformations and you can get world space xyz.

If you want to compute coordinates in a space that can not easily be recovered (e.g. because it is not the same for every object in the scene, like object space) you could render to a 3 channel floating point texture that stores those coordinates. In general, these days it is not really necessary any longer to squeeze information into 8bit RGB(A) channels, there are full precision floating point and integer formats that allow storing data in a more natural way.

1 Like