Absolute begginner help

Forgive me but we all have to start somewhere. I am totally new to opengl

I am trying to create the simplest window as a starting point. Compiling is ok. Linking fails. I need some help.

Details

Windows XP, Borland C++ Builder version 6
Code has been copied from one of the many web tutorials and it compiles fine.

The link error is as follows (2 errors)

[Linker Error] Unresolved external ‘_Form1’ referenced from …myfile.obj

and then a repeat with ‘TForm1’ instead of ‘_Form1’

Firstly I do not understand the error fully and secondly I have no direct references to these forms in the code.

Can anyone shed some light on this for me. Sorry if this is a dumb question. I have been looking at open gl for about 4 hours now (including getting C++ up and running) and most of that time has been on help and web to try to resolve this.

If it helps I have copied the full code used to www.good-image.co.uk (no formatting)

I may have been a little premature!

I have started again as I made a guess that the code was conflicting with something else that may have been left behind from another test.

I get it to compile, link, build and run now.

BUT

All I get is a blank window, no pretty triangle. I will keep looking at it. If anyone can help in this new aspect please see the code at good-image.co.uk and offer any advice.

Thanks

Gwynnnn,
I don’t see projection settings in your code. The eye (viewpoint) is at (0,0,0) and looking along -Z axis by default. The view point may be on the same plane where the pretty triagle is placed.

Try to move the triangle backward a little, for example:

void display()
{
    /* rotate a triangle around */
    glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);
    glColor3f(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
    glVertex3i(0, 1, -3);
    glColor3f(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);
    glVertex3i(-1, -1, -3);
    glColor3f(0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f);
    glVertex3i(1, -1, -3);
    glEnd();

glFlush();
}