A few questions about OpenGL and freeglut

Good day everybody,

I’m just starting to learn OpenGL. Because I work on multiple platforms I decided to give freeglut a try. Now I’ve got a few questions for you I hope that are not too dull to answer. Don’t hesistate to point me to good literature on those topics as I started out reading with a few tutorials that I thought lacked a bit in detail.

My first two are about small portions of my code. In my implementation I use glutDisplayFunc(&renderScene) and glutIdleFunc(&renderScene) in the main function where renderScene is the following:

void
renderScene(void)
{
    static float angle = 0.0f;

glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
    glClearDepth(1.0);
    glDepthFunc(GL_LEQUAL);
    glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);

glLoadIdentity();

glTranslatef(0.0f, 0.0f,-10.0f);

glRotatef(angle,0.0f,1.0f,0.0f);
    glRotatef(angle,1.0f,1.0f,1.0f);
    angle += 0.7f;

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
        glVertex3f( 1.0f, 1.0f,-1.0f);
        glVertex3f(-1.0f, 1.0f,-1.0f);
        glVertex3f(-1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);
        glVertex3f( 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);
    glEnd();

glutSwapBuffers();
}

How are the commands after glLoadIdendity processed in general? When I change the order glTranslatef, glRotatef and the Quad are called I get different results where the desired is the one by the code above. In my example would it be: T * R * K, where T is the translation, R is the rotation and K are the coordinates (for homogene coordinates)?

It took me a while to find out how to correctly initialize the depth buffer. I am now setting GLUT_DEPTH in glutInitDisplayMode in the main and using glClearDepth(1.0), glDepthFunc(GL_LEQUAL) and glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST) in renderScene. Is this the correct setup? At least the presentation of depth seems to be correct now.

My last question is about freeglut in general. How strong is it that means how many features of OpenGL does it provide?

Thanks for your help in advance :smiley: