3D Space Environment

I am trying to create a navigatable universe consisting of stars and planets, but moving through the universe, and placing the planets/stars in perspective using gluPerspective(60, w/h, 1, 400);
but I can’t get it to plot where I want, and I can’t figure out how to move inward, and bacwards through the world, how can I go about doing this?

Read a f*cking book. Then post questions in the beginners forum.

don’t be an arschloch, I have plenty of C/opengl experience, I am just having trouble in the perpective part.

How can you not understand perspective if you have “plenty of opengl experience” ?

Your question doesn’t seem very precise… what is your problem exactly ?

Have a look at nehe.gamedev.net, there’s a few good basic tutorials. You need to understand how to use the modelview matrix to simulate a “camera”.

Y.

I am obviously not making myself clear. I am use to using glOrhto, and glFrustum, when I am programming, but I am trying to use gluPerspective, inorder to generate a more 3D experiene than glFrustum, but my book doesn’t explain it well enough that I can figure out how to plot on both the w, and h, as well as work with near, and far.

gluPerspective and glFrustum basically both do the same. They both define a perspective projection matrix, just with different parameters. In fact, gluPerspective is usually implemented using glFrustum

From Mesa:

void GLAPIENTRY
gluPerspective(GLdouble fovy, GLdouble aspect, GLdouble zNear, GLdouble zFar)
{
GLdouble xmin, xmax, ymin, ymax;

ymax = zNear * tan(fovy * M_PI / 360.0);
ymin = -ymax;
xmin = ymin * aspect;
xmax = ymax * aspect;

/* don’t call glFrustum() because of error semantics (covglu) */
frustum(xmin, xmax, ymin, ymax, zNear, zFar);
}

That’s the relationship between gluPerspective and glFrustum.