[Noob] Difference between UNORM and SRGB

Hi, I’m a hobbyist, so I’m not that knowledgeable in to graphics programming.
Still I’ve been doing the few Vulkan tutorials out there, and reading how to do stuff.
But I come across this again and again…all tutorials assume that your graphics hardware support the VK_FORMAT_R8G8B8A8_SRGB flag but when asking vulkan for the supported formats I get VK_FORMAT_B8G8R8A8_UNORM for the 8bit formats.

So I was wondering what is the difference between UNORM and SRGB.

I found this in Vulkan Spec:

VK_FORMAT_R8G8B8A8_SRGB specifies a four-component, 32-bit unsigned normalized format that has an 8-bit R component stored with sRGB nonlinear encoding in byte 0, an 8-bit G component stored with sRGB nonlinear encoding in byte 1, an 8-bit B component stored with sRGB nonlinear encoding in byte 2, and an 8-bit A component in byte 3.

VK_FORMAT_B8G8R8A8_UNORM specifies a four-component, 32-bit unsigned normalized format that has an 8-bit B component in byte 0, an 8-bit G component in byte 1, an 8-bit R component in byte 2, and an 8-bit A component in byte 3.

There seems to be a difference in format features as well:

All image formats are assumed to be in a linear colorspace. SRGB is a specific, non-linear colorspace, so that becomes part of the image format. In terms of the actual storage, SRGB is stored the same way as UNORM. But when it gets read from a texture, then a conversion from sRGB to a linear colorspace will take place for the texels being read. When writing to sRGB images, you can also tell the system to do a linear-to-sRGB conversion for the values being written to the framebuffer.

Ah I see…so SRGB and UNORM are almost identical ,except UNORM having
some extra features.
That link reminded me that should start reading the specification as well.

I was curious , because I have a Radeon RX 570, not modern card but not old either…so I was wondering if not having an SRGB is a handicap.